THE TWENTY-FIVE MYSTERIES OF THE UNIVERSAL ORTHODOX ROSARY Haela Ravenna Hunt-Hendrix

Opening: Friday 13 September, 7pm 13 September-5 October 2024

LITURGY performance 9pm

Centralbanken Brugata 12, 0186, Oslo, Norway

Tradition is that which carves out an incomprehensible future, beyond all analogy. The Universal Orthodox faith commits to the radical consequence of dogma to yield a new prayer rule grounding an ecumenism between the Orthodox, Catholic and Judeo-Protestant (secular) sectors of the Abrahamic geo-political sphere.

The Catholic Rosary began to take shape during the counter-reformation (1500s) and achieved its standard fifteen-mystery formulation (Joyful, Sorrowful, Glorious) in Louis de Monteforte's *The Secret of the Rosary* (1700s). Each mystery is a moment from Christ's birth, death or resurrection which surpasses the imagination. In the wake of the Fatima miracles, Pope John Paul II added a set of Luminous Mysteries (2000s), devoted to Christ's actual ministry, totaling twenty.

The Rosary finally finds its home in the Orthodox sphere with the addition of five Marian mysteries, along with minor alterations that bring its implied Mariology and Pneumatology in line with tradition. Notable additions include the adolescent Mary's merger with the Shekinah in the Second Temple's Holy of Holies and St. Helena's elevation of Christ's cross in the wake of Christianity's non-violent conquest of the Roman Empire.